Chestnut and Acorn Class

Welcome to the Early Years section. We frequently update each class section with information, good work, images and more. 

Staff in charge of EYFS 

Miss Ellie Parslow: Chestnut Class – EYFS

Mrs Glenda Philpott: Acorn Class teacher, EYFS Leader and Reading Lead.

EYFS Statement

In line with our school vision, we strive to provide a stimulating, safe, enjoyable and happy community with strong Christian values. We work together to ensure everyone is the best they can be and reaches their full potential to follow their dreams.

The Foundation Stage places great emphasis on children learning by doing. Our children are given opportunities to gain first hand experiences through play and active involvement. Our children are encouraged to be independent. As well as adult led focused activities and independent focused activities, children have access to activities that they can access themselves and resources that allow them to follow their own ideas. This type of learning occurs both inside and outside.

The Foundation Stage is the start of our pupils’ school journey towards achieving;

  • Children enjoying their learning.
  • Respect, empathy and teamwork, creating a family atmosphere.
  • Developing key life skills to enable life-long learning.
  • Creativity in all aspects of school life.
  • Children reaching their full potential

Our learners will move on to the next stage of their education.

  • They will have strong communication skills, both written and verbal, and will listen respectfully and with tolerance to the views of others.
  • They will take pride in all that they do, always striving to do their best.
  • They will demonstrate emotional resilience and the ability to persevere when they encounter challenge.
  • They will develop a sense of self-awareness and become confident in their own abilities.
  • They will be kind, respectful and honest, demonstrate inclusive attitudes and have a sense of their role in our wider society.

The Early Years Curriculum

The Early Years Curriculum consists of the seven areas of Learning and Development. In school there are three prime and four specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Communication and Language.
  • Physical Development.

The four specific areas of learning are:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

R.E. is incorporated into the area of Understanding the World.

At Horton Kirby School we believe that providing the appropriate curriculum for each learner is an essential part of fulfilling the school’s mission statement. We strive to promote a culture of learning in a fun way. We provide a challenging and stimulating environment where everyone is cared for, valued and respected.

We follow the Cornerstones curriculum, in line with the rest of the school, which allows us to have high expectations and encourage our learners to be the best that they can be, in a supportive environment.

The Cornerstones pedagogy is based on 4 distinct stages, otherwise known as ‘The 4 cornerstones’. The first Cornerstone is ‘Engage’ where children take part in a memorable experience to stimulate curiosity and questioning. The Second Cornerstone is ‘Develop’ where the children look more deeply in to the theme and explore and acquire new skills and knowledge. The third Cornerstone is ‘Innovate’ where the children have crucial opportunities to return to previous skills and knowledge and apply them. The fourth Cornerstone is where the children reflect on their learning, test their knowledge and celebrate their achievements.

Topic Webs: 

Term 1 – September 2020: 



Helpful Documents

Reading Leaflet 2020

Download File

Reading Wordless Books

Download File

Autumn Term 1 Parent Letter

Download File

EYFS Final parents information afternoon Jan

Download File

Home learning example

Download File

Recommended reading for Reception

Download File